#NYFW Tales: Backstage at Lupe Gajardo FW15 with Sergio Erasmo of MAC Cosmetics

THE SCENE BACKSTAGE AT LUPE GAJARDO FW15

Fashion Week is all about seizing opportunities, and that I did during my time backstage. In my last post, I documented my experience backstage at the Skingraft show. I was scheduled to attend the 9 PM presentation of Chilean designer Lupe Gajardo, but being in the right place at the right time, I was able to meet the show’s producer and cover backstage as well. SCORE!

MAC SR. ARTIST, SERGIO ERASMO & MODEL

I moved my things over to the backstage area for the show, and immediately got to work. As I was there quite early, I was able to get lots of great behind-the-scenes shots prior to talking make-up. I was greeted by Sergio Erasmo, MAC Cosmetics Senior Artist for Argentina, Peru, Chile, Paraguay & Uruguay who was keying the make-up of the show. I asked him about the beauty inspiration, and how it paired with the designer’s clothing. Says Erasmo:

ARTIST STATION

You will see in the collection that there is clothing that is a post-apocolyptic version of clothing, so we wanted to do that with make-up also; it’s part of the same story. This is a woman in the future, kind of like “Mad Max” kind of woman, that is fighting for survival. What I’m trying to do is work with the tiredness colors in the face, but she’s playing it in a very beautiful way, so the tiredness has some glamour to it. We worked with ochre tones on the eyelids, taupe-y colors to shape the eyes and cheeks, and a beautiful violet lipstick that is coming next season [for MAC].

FINAL LOOK ON MODEL

The final look was clean, yet realistic with darker tones around the eyes. The model looks like she’s had a “long day”, but remains beautiful nonetheless. Do you like the idea of “post-apocolyptic” beauty? Would you consider wearing a similar look come fall? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

*Photos by Andrea K. Castillo for A Life In The Day of Andrea

Leave a comment