A Hair Refresh with Stylist Ray Guh of Haircraft by Ray at The Gregory Hotel

Before: Straightened hair with fried ends

A few months back during the holiday season of 2016, I was invited by Janine Just to be a featured  curly-haired blogger & influencer in a hairstyling segment for a Facebook Live with The Scene, co-hosted by Atara Twersky, mother and author of Curlee Girlee. The book, inspired by her youngest daughter who has a full head of ringlets, serves as visual and written positive reinforcement for young girls who feel out of place or awkward with their curls. The segment was filmed on-site at the Caravan Stylist Studio in The Gregory Hotel in the Herald Square neighborhood of Manhattan.

During the approximately 20-minute segment, young girls with curls were interviewed with their parents about their hair, and styling specifically, with a hairstylist on-hand to show proper methods. As the “curly woman”, I recounted my trials and tribulations with multi-textured hair growing up, and the struggle for finding proper products for my hair type. For my piece of the segment, celebrity hairstylist Ray Guh of Haircraft by Ray, whose studio is right down the hall from the Caravan, washed and demonstrated how to properly distribute and style my curls, using the OGX Coconut Curls line of products.

Before: side view, lots of length with grown out color

I loved my experience so much with Ray that I knew I had to go back. My ends at the time were super damaged, so he extended the offer to come in for a trim in the coming weeks, and today was finally that day! I had most recently blown my hair out for Valentine’s Day, and with my week being so incredibly hectic, had no chance to give it a wash. I came to Ray’s studio with my hair in a slick ponytail, mostly tamed by the natural oils that came out to play after not washing for over a week. We took my hair down to see the overall length and assess the damage to my ends. I mentioned to him that my main concern was to cut the split ends and grown out color, but keep the length. Ray said taking off about an inch and giving some shape to the front of the hair would be the best plan of action, and that this type of cut would work well both curly and straight.

After: Fresh cut!

After taking my before photo, it was off to get a (much-needed) wash. Once back in my chair, Ray sectioned my hair off to get to cutting with precision. It was crazy to see how limp my ends looked as he cut them off, but there was such a sense of relief. Up until this point, this was the longest my hair has ever been in my adult life as at has been over a full year since my last hair cut. Length is cool, but my hair was completely lifeless and lacking bounce. Seeing the dead ends come off literally and figuratively made me feel lighter.

Side view: I am BEAMING

After a full conversation about coconuts and our home countries of Belize and Taiwan respectively, my hair was sectioned off again post-cut to be styled with product. He used Ouidad Climate Control gel to rake and shake my hair, the method for styling curly hair in which you rake product through a section of hair thoroughly, then shake the section between your fingers to activate the curl pattern. I was placed under the hood dryer for approximately 15 minutes after product was distributed through my hair to lock in moisture, followed by diffusing the hair with the blow dryer to dry all remaining damp hair. Once dry, he distributed a shine serum throughout my hair to seal the shaft, and when I looked in the mirror, I felt like a superstar!

Back view: Shiny curls to envy!

My curls were so shiny and bouncy! Once I did a spin in the chair, fellow stylist Franny exclaimed, “You look like a Pantene model!” I was hype. No doubt about it. We took after photos with a proper ring light, making sure to have a combo of still photos, Boomerang, and slo mo for dramatic purposes. I told Ray that I felt like a new person, and we took a selfie to remember the moment forever. With my cut, my hair looks and feels super healthy, and I can’t wait to go back to Ray for my next cut. If you are a curly girl, I highly recommend Ray for your next cut and styling experience!

Silly selfie with Ray after my cut

 

The Gregory Hotel
42 West 35th Street (Mezzanine level)
New York, NY 10001
United States
(212) 947-0200 ext 7024
*All photos by Andrea K. Castillo & Ray Guh
Leave a Reply

