WOMANday Exclusive: Nike Master Trainer Traci Copeland Chats Fitness, Training Tips for Runners, & More!

TRACI COPELAND TEACHING

You are a self-professed “yoga-athlete”. Can you tell us a bit about your ​fitness background​?

I was a competitive gymnast for thirteen years- competing in bars, beam, floor, and vault. I also ran track in high school and college- competing in 200m, triple jump, long jump, and high jump. Our high school girls team (me and two other girls) were the first team to ever win a state title. And we did it two years in a row! In college, my first year at Georgetown, we were Big East Champions.

​I first met you in one of my Nike Training Club yoga sessions, as our instructor. What brought you to Nike?

Who wouldn’t want to work for Nike right ? I found out they were auditioning trainers three years ago, so I auditioned. It’s sort of been my dream job ever since. I’m very lucky in terms of the types of projects I get to work on, the athletes I get to work with, and being able to travel the world!

​Spring is here, and marathon season has begun. Do you have any training tips for runners​, both novices and those that are more advanced​?

For novice runners, hold on to what got you motivated to run in the first place. There is nothing more exciting than falling in love with running for the first. Approach without any expectation. Run to finish the race and that’s it. And for more advanced runners, it’s important for them to just be humble. Less expectation and emphasis on times but rather enjoy the race and naturally you’ll run faster.

TRACI’S WORKOUT IN THE NIKE TRAINING CLUB APP

​Where can people take class with you, and what can we expect from you in the coming months?

They can find me at Nike’s Upper East Side Running store every Thursday at 7 AM, and Broadway Dance Center Yoga 9:30-10:30 AM.


It was a pleasure chatting with (as well as taking class with) Traci. Be sure to follow her adventures with Nike on Instagram at @traco4. Maybe she will be in your city soon!

Leave a Reply

