Capsule Show Unveils “The Beauty Lab” at Their NY Women’s Show, Feat. Rudy’s Barbershop, Hail Nails, Drunk Elephant Skin Care & More!

THE BEAUTY LAB

The Fall/Winter 2015 season of Capsule Women’s RTW in New York hosted a bunch of firsts; a new venue in Pier 94, an exclusive industry panel, and curated outfit picks from The Influentials, featuring Natalie Suarez of Natalie Off Duty, Michele Janezic, and Paloma Elsesser. One of my favorite new additions was that of The Beauty Lab, “an in-show section of emerging beauty and skincare brands selected by Fashionista beauty editor Cheryl Wischhower”.

HAIR STYLING STATION BY RUDY’S BARBERSHOP

From reading the blog, you can tell that I have a passion for all things fashion and beauty, so it was quite a treat to have both of these in the same place for Capsule Women’s. I used my handy map to locate the Beauty Lab, and knew I was in the right place when I spotted the hair cut & styling station by Rudy’s Barbershop.

To my surprise, there was no one in the chair when I arrived, and was happy to have my tresses taken care of by Olivia. Since I had already straightened my hair the day prior at home, I asked for loose waves, and that I got!

SET-UP AT HAIL NAILS

Immediately after taming my tresses, I walked about five feet over into the most amazing booth of super-pigmented nail polish colors. The brand, Hail Nails, was showcasing their product, and giving free manis to attendees that shared photos with the #HailNails hashtag on social media.

NAIL DESIGNS BY JESSICA JONG

I was able to meet the entire team, including founder Shannon Marcec, and was treated to a rad mani by nail artist Jessica Jong. The design I used was the first one on the board, which was very street-art inspired.

SKINCARE BY DRUNK ELEPHANT

After letting my nails dry properly, I shimmied over to the Drunk Elephant skincare booth. I had become familiar with the brand about a year ago through a few press pitches, and was eager to learn more. I was greeted by the brand’s founder, Tiffany Masterson, who walked me through the line, which blends natural and chemical ingredients to let you achieve healthy, glowing skin. I was quite impressed with the ingredients, and sleek, colorful packing. Looking forward to using it in the future.

Do you dig the inclusion of beauty brands at fashion tradeshow? Do you think it is a thoughtful decision, or a distraction to buyers? Let me know your thoughts below!

 

*Photos by Andrea K. Castillo for A Life In The Day Of Andrea

Leave a Reply

