The Road To Fitness: Why I Started Running Again With Nike + NYC

FIRST ROOKIE RUN, IN THE POURING RAIN AFTER SPRINTS

As we are a little over a month into the new year, many of us had resolutions to lose weight, and get more fit. In late December, I decided to get active again by running, with the persuasion of some of my friends. A runner at heart, I was a member of my high school’s track team (big up Bishop Kearney High School!) and ran all seasons; cross country, indoor, and outdoor. I was more of a sprinter, and laid off cross country my second year, and really loved it! I didn’t run track in college, as I believed I would not be allowed a social life being on the team, and kind of abandoned running for some years.

STRETCHING IT OUT AT NTC YOGA

I decided to run again as I realized it was something I knew best that garnered great results from a fitness standpoint. My intention was never to lose weight, but build muscle tone, and get stronger. I started to run around Prospect Park with friends in late December, and was encouraged to try Nike + NYC Run Club. I’m so happy that I did! The weekly schedule includes runs for different levels, as well at Nike Training Club classes that focus on a gym workout or yoga.

http://i1369.photobucket.com/albums/ag217/andreakcastillo/PSW_2685_zpsast5wsi0.jpg

RUNNING THE STRAIGHTAWAY AT MY FIRST SPEED RUN IN CENTRAL PARK

I’ve focused my energies on the runs, mainly the Speed Run, as I want to get fast again after abandoning running for some time. I’ve tried the NTC Yoga class once, which is a really relaxing way to start one’s day. I always have the class schedule open in my browser to register for classes people may drop out of, because they fill up fast, and I’m dedicated!

SPEED SESSION AT THE MILE HIGH RUNNING CLUB

I’m really happy and thankful to have joined, as I’ve met so many incredible, supportive people. The coaches are incredible, Coach Bennett and Coach Julia being two of my favorites, as they are always there to motivate you to get to the finish line. All classes are FREE, and you can sign up HERE. Come join me!

*Photos Courtesy of Nike + NYC

Leave a Reply

