#ALifeInTheDayInMiami: Art + Beats at Sound.WAV at Aqua Art Miami Feat. Olivia Dope, MeLo-X y Mas!

A REVELER AT AQUA ART MIAMI

In the first week of December of 2014, I was fortunate to head out to Miami for Miami Art Week with my colleagues at Audiophile PLUS. As a company, we curate music for art shows, Aqua Art Miami being our largest client to date. For this season, our musical soundscape was entitled Sound.WAV Miami, and the event was held in conjunction with B’LEVE BROWN Media, and The Life Files.

THE SCENE

We were on set at the fair December 3-7, providing curated playlists for each day of the fair with special DJ sets in the evening.

THE MOON

The weather was absolutely gorgeous, giving the freezing temperatures that were occurring back home in New York City. We did have some spouts of rain during the evening, but the bright full moon let this slight downfall slide.

DJ ISIS SWABY

Our final day, which was a Sunday, was the most relaxed and included the most variety of music. Our first DJ of the afternoon was Isis Swabyboth a visual artist & DJ/producer whose soundscape is full of down-tempo and funky jams. You can check out her full set below.

FRIENDS COREY WASHINGTON & MELO-X CAME TO SUPPORT

My buddy and former SoundVision Miami act MeLo-X came out on the same afternoon to support with his girlfriend, visual artist & model Corey Washington. This was a particularly fun moment for me as I was able to unwind, dance, and act silly with my friends while Olivia Dope spun.

DJ OLIVIA DOPE

My gyal Olivia Dope was the headliner DJ on our final day, and I couldn’t have asked for a better way to end out our musical run! She picked up where my monster Spotify playlist ended, which was in intense reggae vibes. She kept the vibes going with throwback Shabba and Maxi Priest, which transitioned into house music, which transitioned to us looking like a girl group dancing in perfect time to her jams.

You can check out her full set below.

I ended out my Sunday evening with the homies at the Electric Punanny party at Purdy Lounge, with selectahs Jasmine Solano, MeLo-X, DJ Gravy & more! You can check out photos on Jasmine’s blog.

SOUTH BEACH IN IT’S SYMMETRICAL GLORY

Last year I was unable to make it to the beach, so I made it my JOB to take a quick trip to the beach on my final day. I took the short walk over with my girl Mariah, and reveled in its sun-drenched glory.

THE SHORE

I really love the beach, and South Beach is one of my faves because the water is so clear, and the sand is white, devoid of huge clumps of seaweed. All of these photos have not been edited. I still can’t believe how beautiful it all was; a perfect way to relax after an intense workweek.

LAST MEAL AT LIDO BAR @ THE STANDARD

After tanning and swimming, we took a cab over to The Standard for lunch with our buddy Ferris. We dined at Lido Bar which is an outdoor restaurant in the hotel that looks over the marina. I had a turkey burger with cheese, because I thought I was starving, but in the end, could not finish.

SUNSET

The views were gorgeous, so I had to capture this sunset. I really could not have asked for a better end to my time in Miami; great views, food, drink, and most of all, great company!

*Photos by Andrea K. Castillo

Leave a Reply

