Nailed It: A Regal Affair with FLOSS GLOSS “Picnic” & “Honey”

As we welcome Leo Season today, I felt it was fitting to show off a mani that best exemplified the boldness, and fiery disposition of the ruler of the Zodiac. July’s birthstone is ruby, and Leo is ruled by gold, so I figured a combination of these two elements would work together for a seamless, regal look.

I paired two shades from FLOSS GLOSS’s Spring/Summer ’14 “All The Fixins” collection. On my thumb and ring finger I used Honey, a holographic bronzy/gold glitter that is a homage to pop icon, Mariah Carey [remember the smash-hit “Honey”, and the not-so-critically acclaimed film, “Glitter”? Clever, huh?]. The glitter polish is quite concentrated, but I used three coats to achieve the look in the photo above.

On the remaining nails, I used Picnic, a weathered cranberry creme that evokes feelings of glamour, lust, and…hunger? Maybe I’m just hungry, but this shade reminds me more of the holidays, specifically of wines and cranberry paired with a feast. The polish went on smoothly, and I used three coats to achieve the opacity seen in the photo above.

What do you think of the pairing? Does it scream “something regal”? I really hope so! Honey and Picnic both retail for $8, and can be purchased directly from FLOSS GLOSS. Happy painting!

*Photos by Andrea K. Castillo

Leave a Reply

