Blo Blow Dry Bar Opens #BloChelsea With Sips, Sweets, & Discounted Blows!

The entryway of Blo Chelsea
The entryway of Blo Chelsea

Blo Blow Dry Bar is the original blow dry salon, founded in 2007 with a menu of seven blow-out styles. The chain, based in Toronto,  has expanded over the years, opening its latest output in Manhattan’s Chelsea neighborhood, blocks away from F.I.T. #BloChelsea held their grand opening festivities from May 8th (for media) through May 11th. Clients were offered discounted blow-outs for $25, as opposed to the $40 retail price, and were treated to champagne and mini-cupcakes during their appointment.

Blo emblazoned mini-cupcakes
Blo emblazoned mini-cupcakes

As I was unable to attend the media preview on the 8th, I stopped by the location on Saturday the 10th to take in the Blo experience. Upon my arrival, I was greeted by Hilary Chan-Kent, the company’s Chief Brand Officer, and was introduced to staff and the salon’s menu. It was nice to know that the chain offers seven blow-out styles, including a high pony, bun, and fishtail braid.

Hair menu of services.
Hair menu of services.

After receiving my complimentary glass of prosecco, I decided to go with the “Red Carpet”, a classic blow-out with lots of body and “gentle arcs toward the neckline”. I was given a stylist who specialized in curly hair (my hair was in an enormous messy bun at this point), and we walked over to the wash station to get things going.

Wash station.
Wash station.

The salon was beautifully designed and decorated with a grey, white, and fuchsia palette, I was able to relax and look at the glass tile-covered walls as my hair was washed. Blo uses Unite products, a line that was not familiar with prior, that has amazing scents and moisturizing capabilities.

I was quickly taken to my chair, and received a great blow-out with body and smoothness; just what I was looking for. Check out the photos below for the final look.

The team at #BloChelsea was super friendly and accommodating. I really appreciated their attention to detail, and was pleasantly surprised to receive a bag of goodies from the media preview that I had missed! Be on the lookout for more reviews. I highly recommend #BloChelsea for the woman on the go that needs a quality blow-out.

blo chelsea

800 6th Avenue
New York, New York 10001
212 725 4500
blochelsea@blomedry.com

*Photos by Andrea K. Castillo

Leave a Reply

