An Herbal Alternative for Your Tresses With The Herbalosophy Hair Care Line

Herbalosophy Curls Collection. From L to R: Smooth Curl Shampoo, Fortify Curl Conditioner, Define Curl Creme, Smooth Oil Mist.
Herbalosophy Curls Collection. From L to R: Smooth Curl Shampoo, Fortify Curl Conditioner, Define Curl Cream, Smooth Oil Mist.

Earlier this month, I had the opportunity to attend the International Beauty Show (IBS) at the Jacob Javits Center. I was invited to meet the team at Herbalosophy, a botanically-based haircare line headquartered in Los Angeles, CA. I read up on the company prior to my visit, and I was totally about their products that are 80% natural, sulfate-free, and paraben free. They have two lines, The Nurture Serieswhich “features ingredients with benefits that focus on bestowing soft, manageable, protected hair and a healthier scalp”, and The Curl Series which “Leverages botanicals with benefits ideally suited enhance, de-frizz, shape and maintain curly hair”.

Finished look, view from the right side.
Finished look, view from the right side.

Given my texture, I felt The Curl Series was best for me, and decided to learn more about the products. The line infuses murumuru, aloe vera, and kelp, to soften and hydrate curls that are prone to frizz. The full line includes Smooth Curl Shampoo, Fortify Curl Conditioner, Define Curl Cream, and Smooth Oil Mist. After my info session, the team treated me to the full Curl Series to review, so here goes!

Finished look, view from the left-hand side.
Finished look, view from the left-hand side.

I washed my hair in warm water with the Smooth Curl Shampoo and rinsed. I followed up with the Fortify Curl Conditioner and fully saturated my tresses and distributed evenly with a wide tooth comb. I let the conditioner sit about five minutes, then rinsed about 90% of product out; it’s important to leave a bit of conditioner in your hair when it is prone to frizz.

Finished look from the front.
Finished look from the front.

Once out the shower, I distributed Define Curl Cream throughout my hair, and combed through with a wide tooth comb to ensure even distribution. I scrunched my damp curls for volume, then proceeded to let my hair air dry. Air drying time varies for different thickness and lengths, for me I let my hair air dry two hours tops so my roots are still damp, then I proceed to scrunch and dry with a diffuser on my blow dryer. When I achieve my desired curl pattern and volume, I spray my curls with Smooth Oil Mist to give my locks a smooth, hydrated look.

I liked the fact that Herbalosophy products were so easy to use and lightweight; my hair was full of bouncy, happy curls. I did notice, however, that some parts of my hair did look a bit frizzy. I think for next time, I will have to use a bit more of the Define Curl Cream since my hair is a bit thicker.

For more on Herbalosophy, head over to their website here.

*Photos by Andrea K. Castillo

Leave a Reply

