Take A Sip & Bite: The Organic Grill

A view of The Organic Grill via the street. Photo used by permission of he restaurant.
A view of The Organic Grill via the street. Photo used by permission of he restaurant.

My world of food is quite complex, but is based in foods that are quite rich and paired with specialty cocktails and/or very strong coffee beverages. I’m always down to try something new, and for some time I have been considering infusing my diet with more vegetarian meals. Aside from wanting to be a little healthier myself, I have a growing number of vegetarian and vegan friends, so it is a personal preference to eat more of what they do.

Given this fact, I jumped at the opportunity to try the food at The Organic Grill. Located in Manhattan’s East Village, the restaurant is fully vegetarian and Kosher, offering a multitude of vegan meals, along with a few dishes for those that may be pescatarian.

Our appetizer: quinoa bites with a smooth avocado sauce. Very similar to falafel.
Our appetizer: quinoa bites with a smooth avocado sauce. Very similar to falafel.

I visited the restaurant on Saturday, March 8th with my favorite vegetarian buddy Indira. The space was very cozy, decorated in warm colors with a welcoming staff. Patrick was our waiter, and he gave us all the background on the restaurant and menu. We started off with an appetizer, which you see in the photo up top, of quinoa bites, think quinoa falafel, with a super smooth avocado dip, served on some greens. The consistency was quite hearty given the multi-grain composition of the bites.

My beverage: the Lemonana, comprised of lemonade, agave, fresh mint, and crushed ice.
My beverage: the Lemonana, comprised of lemonade, agave, fresh mint, and crushed ice.

To drink we both had fresh blended juices beverages. Indira had the Ginger Punch, made with ginger ale, apple juice, orange juice, and fresh ginger. I had the Lemonana (shown above), made with lemonade, agave, fresh mint, and crushed ice. Super refreshing!

Indira's meal: OG Burger sliders.
Indira’s meal: OG Burger sliders.

Up next was what we had been waiting for, the main course. Indira’s plate arrived first, which was the OG Burger sliders, a serving of three different veggie burger options. All three were served up on an Ezekiel bun, which has a sweet potato and chickpea flour base, including a roasted mushroom with shallot and dijon relish, black-eyed sweet potato slider, and the pineapple jerk slider.

My meal: Pumpkin, butternut squash, and cranberry filled dumpling over sautéed kale.
My meal: Pumpkin, butternut squash, and cranberry filled dumpling over sautéed kale.

I decided to go with a fully vegan entree which was a special of the day. It consisted of dumplings which resembled ravioli, filled with pumpkin, butternut squash, and cranberries, served atop a bed of sautéed kale. The dumplings were topped with a cranberry cream sauce, which was divine!

Our desserts: Berry crisp and assorted macaroons
Our desserts: Berry crisp and assorted macaroons

We finished off our meal with an array of desserts including a berry crisp (seen on the left) which was made with stewed strawberries in its own sauce layered with oats and grains, paired with a tasting of fresh coconut macaroons made on site.

Indira and I had great service at The Organic Grill, and I was pleasantly surprised in myself that all of my food choices were not just vegetarian, but vegan, who knew? I would definitely recommend The Organic Grill to anyone who is vegetarian, or those that want to try really tasty vegetarian food. I will be visiting again very soon!

*Photos by Andrea K. Castillo

Leave a Reply

