The Road To Silky Straight Hair With Shea Moisture & Agadir Products

Shea Moisture "Smooth & Repair Hair & Scalp Weekly Therapy"
Shea Moisture “Smooth & Repair Hair & Scalp Weekly Therapy”

For my friends in haircare, Ā I believe you all will enjoy this next review. As many of you know, I have quite thick, curly hair, which I have documented in previous reviews. Given my texture, and current shorter length, it has been much easier for me to style it natural as a time-saver. I haven’t truly straightened my hair myself since maybe December of 2012, when my hair was halfway down my back.

Fast forward to February 2014, and I am gaining some momentum in my hair reviews which means, I am receiving more product from companies. I recently picked up some Shea Moisture products during this past fashion week. There was a lovely array of goods in the gift bag from Korto Momulu’s Fall 2014 presentation. One such product is from their newer Tahitian Noni & Monoi line, which you see in the photo up top.

Seeing that the product was a smoothing treatment which contained keratin, I made sure to do my research as I did not want to try it out and possibly change my curl pattern. My research deemed it safe, so one Saturday I decided to use the treatment as step one of my journey to a smooth look.

I saturated my damp hair with the treatment for approximately 40 minutes, then followed up with a wash. I used Agadir’s Daily Moisturizing line which is sulfate free and infused with Argan Oil. I started with a good lather from the Daily Moisturizing Shampoo, followed by an ample distribution of Daily Moisturizing Conditioner. I always use a wide-tooth comb to evenly distribute conditioner in the shower. I let it sit a few minutes, then thoroughly rinsed out the product.

Agadir products from left to right: Daily Moisturizing shampoo, Firm Hold Hairspray, Hair Shield Spray Treatment, Daily Moisturizing Conditioner
Agadir products from left to right: Daily Moisturizing shampoo, Firm Hold Hairspray, Hair Shield Spray Treatment, Daily Moisturizing Conditioner

Once out the shower, I worked Hair Shield 450 Intense Creme Treatment into my hair, starting at the ends and moving up the hair shaft. The product serves as heat protectant and hydrating properties that helps eliminates frizz, which is a constant pain for me.

The next step was blow drying. I used Agadir’s Featherlite Blow Out Hair brush which is infused with Argan Oil and Tourmaline to speed up the drying process. It was particularly simple to dry with this round brush given its light weight and the way in which it gripped my hair; I’m so used to my hair just falling from the brush given it’s thickness. I would say the blow drying process took a little over an hour, which I’m used to at this point.

My hair wasn’t super smooth with my blow drying technique as I am still a novice, so I followed up with the flat iron. I sectioned off pieces and worked my way from the nape of my neck to the crown. I use a CHI flat iron, and flips pieces by my face accordingly for a more wispy look. I finished the look with the Firm Hold-Volumizing Hair Spray to keep everything in place.

The final look is below.

A view of straightened hair from the right.
A view of straightened hair from the right.

The entire process from treatment to finish took maybe four hours in total, but I ate dinner in between (thankfully) so I would not pass out. I really liked the silky smooth texture my hair took on once the entire process was complete. I would definitely recommend all the products I used for people with slightly thicker hair of all textures. Given the formulas, I believe some products would be a little too dense for those with finer hair. All links are throughout the review.

A view of straightened hair from the left.
A view of straightened hair from the left.

I really hope my tips and product suggestions can help you on your path to silky straight hair. I would love your feedback!

*All Photos by Andrea K. Castillo

Leave a Reply

