From A Fan’s Perspective: Yuna Live @ The Bell House in Brooklyn

Yuna commanding the stage at the Bell House in Brooklyn.
Yuna commanding the stage at the Bell House in Brooklyn.

On the frigid Brooklyn evening of February 8th, the lovely Malaysian songstress by way of sunny Los Angeles, Yuna, had touched down for a special night of music. As one of the first few stops on her headlining NocturnalΒ Tour, Yuna performed at a newer venue in Brooklyn, The Bell House in Red Hook (or the gentrification-friendlyΒ “Gowanus”). The venue is situated in a converted 1920’s warehouse with a bar in the front-of-house, and a music venue/ballroom in back.

In the blue light.
In the blue light.

Yuna went on promptly around 8:30 PM, performing over an hour of her entire catalog, including songs from her debut Decorate EP, debut album Yuna, and sophomore effort Nocturnal. This was my second time seeing Yuna, the first being this past October during CMJ, right before her album release. In both shows, her talent was evident, from her poignant songwriting, sweet acoustic melodies, and passionate vocals. I can say without shame that during her show, whilst snapping away with my camera, I had a few “moments” as many of her songs truly speak to me, and have helped me through tough times.

My favorite songs of the evening included “Coffee”, “Thinking Of You” (Frank Ocean cover), “Lights and Camera”, “Bad Idea”, “Escape”, and “Live Your Life”. Yes, I know that’s about half the set-list, but these songs truly hit a chord with me because they are so honest. Yuna and I are also the same age, so I can totally relate.

The night was lovely despite a few hiccups, and it ended well as I along with my friend Ashante, were able to meet Yuna after the show. She greeted me with a hug, which made me feel cool as I know she remembered me from past meetings, and we chatted for a minute and took photos. A warm ending to an otherwise cold night.

Check out more photos from the show below, including a fun photo of Yuna and I! πŸ™‚

*Photos by Andrea K. Castillo

One thought on “From A Fan’s Perspective: Yuna Live @ The Bell House in Brooklyn

Leave a Reply

