From A Fan’s Perspective: Quadron & Lianne La Havas Live @ Central Park Summerstage

The crowd gathered in Central Park
The crowd gathered in Central Park

It has been some time since I last posted here, in the magical world that is A Life In The Day of Andrea, and I find it quite fitting to come back with a concert review, chock full of photos and words by yours truly! Saturday, July 27th celebrated a momentous evening of beautiful music for Central Park’s Summerstage concert series. I have been attending these shows for years now, and was delighted when I saw that two of my favorites, Quadron and Lianne La Havas, were on the bill for this special evening…for FREE! It was also a particularly special time for me as I had just celebrated my 27th  birthday on the 24th, so in my mind, I felt like this was a concert masked as the best birthday present ever.

Coco O. giving attitude whilst singing
Coco O. giving attitude whilst singing

Enter the press gate at Central Park and see that I have a plus one I was unaware of prior; splendid, the more the merrier! Upon entering the deck area off of stage left, I quickly found that many of my friends, new and old, were also in attendance to celebrate an evening of good music con migo. The show opened  minutes after 7 PM with the sweet vocals of Coco O. from Quadron. She immediately got into the groove, beginning her set with the immediate two-step inducing “LFT (Looking For Trouble)” off their sophomore effort Avalanche (which is amazing btw, if you haven’t already treated your ears). The set showcased an array of songs from the new album including “Favorite Star”, “Never Land”, “Better Off”, “Sea Salt” and “It’s Gonna Get You” [my absolute favorite track on the album], ending with the popular “Hey Love”.

There wasn’t much play from their self-titled debut, only “Day”, which is understandable; they were there to play new music and showcase their newly evolved sound.

Lianne front and center
Lianne front and center

Lianne La Havas was the show’s headliner, and the energy was felt once she hit the stage. Clad in a snug colorblocked dress, Miss La Havas commanded the stage and crowd alike; a collective roaring occurred when she began to sing and strum her guitar. She brought her stripped-down soul stateside in her set, performing tracks from her 2012 album Is Your Love Big Enough?.  Her raspy, yet sultry vocals cooed on songs like “Don’t Wake Me Up”, “Forget”, “Lost & Found”, and “Elusive”. She ended her set with the title track “Is Your Love Big Enough?”, to the crowd’s delight.

The evening was lovely and filled with good vibes, people, and above all, good music.

Check out my gallery below for more photos from the show.

*All photos by Andrea K. Castillo

Leave a Reply

