Meet Alexander, my Nikon D60

Meet Alexander, my Nikon D60.
Meet Alexander, my Nikon D60.

Call me strange, but I like to nickname my electronics. My MacBook Pro is Matthew Parker, my iPhone 5 is Boo Boo, and my Nikon D60 is named Alexander. I acquired Alexander last year around this time from my uncle Stephen, AKA Big Steve. Big Steve (who also happens to be my godfather) has been an avid recreational photographer my entire life, documenting my family over the years with only the best equipment that Nikon has/had to offer. He would make every family dinner, birthday, and holiday an event, shooting with multiple lenses and capturing moments, both candid and posed. It was he who inspired my love of photography, gifting me a point-and-shoot Nikon for my high school graduation. From that moment forward, the rest is history.

Alexander (center), hanging with the homies. Nikon N60 35 mm on the left, and Nikon Coolpix P500 on the right.
Alexander (center), hanging with the homies. Nikon N60 35 mm on the left, and Nikon Coolpix P500 on the right.

My uncle has been away for some time now, so I was a bit nervous to ask if I could use his camera. What would he think? Would he see me as being an opportunist in his absence? Would he think I would misuse his equipment? These thoughts ran rampant in my head, but thankfully, he kindly obliged to my wishes.

I still consider myself a novice in photography, but I am always mindful of what my uncle would do whenever he would capture a photo. He was always present and on the move. He was never in any one’s way, and would constantly press his shutter release button, even in times that one may mark as mundane. There were times I even questioned, “Why is he even taking a photo? We’re just sitting doing nothing in the kitchen.”, but it is these times that I look back on and smile. I didn’t realize then that he was truly capturing the essence of what my family is and has grown to be over the years.

A moment captured by my uncle Big Steve. Thanksgiving dinner at my Grandma's, I believe I was 16, and obviously, too cool for school.
A moment captured by my uncle Big Steve. Thanksgiving dinner at my Grandma’s, I believe I was 16, and obviously, too cool for school.

I believe my uncle granting me access to use his camera and lenses was not just a kind gesture, but something more. I believe this gesture was more of an unwritten wish for me to continue on to capture family moments and that of the world around me. Maybe that is a bit deep, but that is what I took from it. All photos here on A Life in the Day of Andrea (unless it is a photo of me, or I have stated it is the work of someone else) are taken on the Nikon D60, AKA Alexander.

I aspire to be a professional photographer one day, but in the meantime, take a walk with me, and see the world through my eyes.

2 thoughts on “Meet Alexander, my Nikon D60

Leave a Reply

