Chelsea, Lately

Untitled (Two Heads on Gold), 1982Jean-Michel Basquiat
Untitled (Two Heads on Gold), 1982
Jean-Michel Basquiat

Spanning from 14th Street to 30th Street between the avenues of 8th and 11th in Manhattan lies a neighborhood called Chelsea. Popular for its cobblestone streets and nightlife, Chelsea is a cultural destination as it houses a plethora of art galleries. I decided to take a trip to Chelsea over the weekend with my friend Indira to check out one of the many galleries in the area.

We took a trip to the Gagosian Galleryon West 24th Street between 10th and 11th avenues. The Gagosian currently has over fifty works on view by the prolific Jean-Michel Basquiat until April 6th, which I HAD to see as I missed his Brooklyn Museum exhibit a few years back. The space was filled with massive mixed media pieces spanning his short but monumental career.

Cassius Clay, 1982. Jean-Michel Basquiat
Cassius Clay, 1982. Jean-Michel Basquiat

As I was hounded by security guards for snapping photos sans flash, we made our way through the exhibit with less visual momentos than I would have liked, but left with a better understanding of Basquiat as an artist and genius of his generation.

Just kickin' it outside the gallery.
Just kickin’ it outside the gallery.

I had to stop for an outfit shot as we left the gallery to remember the moment. I wore my Notorious B.I.G. tee as it Saturday the 9th was the anniversary of his death, and it was the Brooklyn thing to do. What I’m wearing:

  • Carrera sunglasses
  • Puma Jacket
  • Banana Republic Denim shirt
  • Brooklyn Mint “Notorius” tee
  • Romeo & Juliet Couture jeans
  • Puma Sneakers
Obey the graffiti.
Obey the graffiti.

I found it just fitting that I stumbled upon this lovely piece of graffiti as we left the gallery.

A view from the Highline. Beautiful art covered buildings below.
A view from the Highline. Beautiful art covered buildings below.

Next up was a stroll on the Highline, bustling with tourists and gorgeous views from above, like the one above 🙂

Stained glass color fade on the Highline.
Stained glass color fade on the Highline.

As we got closer to 14th, I spotted this beautifully understated brick wall complete with stained glass that faded from green to pink. The view at this point on The Highline is to die for, which you can see below.

Sun filled day.
Sun filled day.

Gorgeous right? We continued to walk around the neighborhood, stopping for food and drinks, and concluded at 8th Ave and 14th St. I stumbled across the little gem below around the corner from the train station.

Terry or Not?
Terry or Not?

Overall, Chelsea is one of my favorite neighborhoods in NYC to explore as so many aspects of it tickle my fancy; the art, the food, the architecture, and views! Until my next adventure, let me know what you think in the comments!

*All photos snapped on the iPheezy by AKC, unless I’m in it, those are shot by Indira Lambert

Leave a Reply

