What I’m Reading: “Damn Good Advice (for people with talent!) by George Lois

photo 2 (1)…or should I say, “What I just finished reading”. Let’s start off like this. I am a huge fan of arts’ book publisher Phaidon as I connect with a slew of the titles they publish. I am drawn to their advice-style books for creatives, so when I saw this title by the revolutionary communicator George Lois, I knew I had to purchase it and read it immediately. I impulse buy books; call me a nerd or something like that.

“Damn Good Advice (for people with talent!)” gives the reader a list of 120 bits of exactly that, damn good advice! Lois’s no-nonsense tone helps light a fire under your ass (for lack of better words) for the creative individual that needs some direction, as he gives concrete examples of his experiences and results throughout the book. I was drawn to this book as I feel I always need a dose of advice from someone who has realized their creative endeavors. Here is a snap of one of my favorite tips from the book:

photo 1 (1)Check out the video below of Lois’s thoughts on his book.

Available at Phaidon, $9.95.

2 thoughts on “What I’m Reading: “Damn Good Advice (for people with talent!) by George Lois

Leave a Reply

