What I’m Listening To: Yuna “Live Your Life”

Yuna, photo by Zel-Atif Ishak

Find your light
Don’t hide from what you are
And rise before you fall
And hope for something more
Live if you really want to

– Yuna

I admit, my excitement for music can take on obsessive qualities at times. I hear a few tracks, I play them on repeat for hours on end, and I dance and sing along like I’ve known the music for years. This is the case of Malaysian beauty Yuna. I was introduced to her just yesterday by my good friend Jay, and developed an immediate girl crush; she’s gorgeous! This crush was enhanced upon listening to her music. Her voice undulates effortlessly across all of her tracks in a warm, jazzy tone with folk undertones.

Her single “Live Your Life”, produced by my favorite man Pharrell Williams, showcases her vocal ability. The sound is super crisp, the lyrics are positive, and the vibe of the production is laid-back and chill. The video, shot in New York City, follows Yuna on a jaunt throughout her time in the city. We see her in what looks to be her hotel room, strolling down the street, performing a show, and ending the night with some fun at Le Bain. Watch the video below.

Her self-titled debut album will be released on the FADER Label on April 24th. That same night, she will be performing in front of a sold-out crowd at The Music Hall of Williamsburg.You can see her full listing of tour dates on her website. Support good music!

Leave a Reply

