A Life in the Day of Libby Schmitz

Libby Schmitz
Your name (nickname if necessary).  
Libby Schmitz.
Where are you from, and where do you currently reside?
Columbus, Ohio – Brooklyn, NY.

What do you do there?

I’m a publicist and I design jewelry [Phalarope].

Phalarope neon paracord necklace with hex nut detail
Describe what a normal day in the life is for you. (ie time you wake up, foods you eat, errands, meetings, etc)
I usually get up around 8:30 AM and head to my office in Chelsea where I do PR at RMT PR Management.  I work with a lot of different clients from restaurants like Nobu 57 to psychologists, so every day is different.  I keep a lot of my jewelry supplies in my office so whenever I have a second or an idea hits, I can make something.  I’m always running to the Garment District which isn’t far from my office to get new supplies and to Kove Brothers in Chelsea for neon paracord and hex nuts.  I eat lunch a lot at Singe Vert on 7th Avenue and dinner is usually something quick and simple after a run on the West Side Highway.  I get home around 8pm and usually stay up until at least 12:30 AM making jewelry.
Favorite lunch spot

Describe yourself in five words or less.

I’m not a morning person.

What inspires you? 
My childhood, summer days at the beach and all the  bracelets and lanyards I made as a kid.  I used to love making friendship bracelets and crafts so with Phalarope, I’ve evolved those projects into designs that are more chic and grown-up.  When I was a kid I wore so many bracelets on my right wrist that my mom was convinced my wrist was smaller on that arm and made me go to the doctor to make sure it was okay to wear so many bracelets!  I wore a rope bracelet all year long.  I would get one at the beach in North Carolina every summer and get a new one every year.  I loved jelly bracelets and friendship bracelets too.  I still love stacking jewelry and I design pieces that are really easy to take on and off.   I never use clasps so everything can be tied and untied on yourself really easily.

Where is your favorite place to unwind (in your city/town)?  

Brooklyn Bridge Park.  It’s really close to my apartment and I spend a lot of time there especially in the summer.  I love Jane’s Carousel!  I love the view of it from the Manhattan Bridge.

Unwind.

Favorite restaurant or cafe?

Blaue Gans in Tribeca.

Favorite places to shop (apparel, accessories, home goods, etc)?  

Madewell, Zara, Brooklyn Flea Market.

View inside the Brooklyn Flea

What do you love most about the city you live in?

EVERYTHING!  I have lived here for over 10 years and I can’t imagine living any where else.  I love the people, the energy, the subway, the parks.

Website, social media links
www.phalaropejewelry.com.  I think I’m the last person on the planet not on Facebook.
It was lovely getting to know a little bit more about Libby and her jewelry line Phalarope. Her pieces will be on sale on Fab.com starting at 11 AM EST on Friday, April 13th. Not a Fab.com member? Use this link to join. Happy shopping!
3 thoughts on “A Life in the Day of Libby Schmitz

  1. Happy Birthday dear niece. I am so proud of you for following your dreams. Uncle Warner always had a soft spot in his heart for you. If he were still here, it be especially impressed with the hardware you use in your craft. I’m sure he’d even have a few ideas to contribute as well.
    I really do love you although we never see each other.
    I’ll be 70 in just a few days. Doesn’t seem possible. Life is good.
    Blessings,
    Auntie Di

Leave a Reply

