Take A Bite, *Philly Edition*: Green Eggs Cafe

Green Eggs Cafe, street view.

This past weekend I made a trip to Philly to celebrate the 25th year of my lovely friend Tilewa (love you girl!). Over the course of my time there, we shared many good times amongst friends, music, drink, and of course, FOOD! She informed me of all the wonderful eats in her neighborhood, so I was excited to “eat my way through through Philly”. Our first stop on Saturday for brunch was Green Eggs Cafe. I had checked out the menu online prior to get a taste for it, and I’m pretty sure my jaw dropped when I read that their red velvet pancakes were one of their signature dishes. If you follow me on Tumblr, you would know I recently posted on red velvet pancakes and my new obsession for them. So it’s safe to say, I was quite anxious to get to the cafe!

Green Eggs Cafe is a small chain in Philadelphia; we visited the Northern Liberties location. Upon arrival, we saw a small crowd outside which is always a good sign, and stepped inside to add our name to the queue. We headed to the coffee bar in back to relax and sip on coffee during our wait; a great addition in my opinion. Our forty minute wait ended up being more like twenty (sweet) and were quickly seated by our waitress. I took a shot of the specials board above once seated and realized that Green Eggs serves made to order food all the time. There are no freezers or microwaves in their establishment, and they aim to maintain a “green environment” by their practices and support of local farmers and product.Now for the fun part. What did we eat and drink you ask? Here goes! Since we noticed that portions were quite large, we tried our best to order different meals so we could all share. We started with mimosas (it’s BYOB) and then the food. Here is what we consumed, between four of us:

  • The Kitchen Sink (2 orders, one with a side of bacon): Three eggs scrambled with cheese, our signature potatoes, peppers, and onions, topped with homemade jumbo biscuit and country sausage gravy in a cast-iron skillet
The Kitchen Sink
  • Red Velvet Pancakes: Red Velvet buttermilk pancakes with chocolate morsels layered with strawberry mascarpone and topped with fresh strawberries, pure maple syrup & chantilly cream
Red Velvet Pancakes
  • Peanut Butter Crunchy French Toast: Brioche slices stuffed with whipped crunchy peanut butter cream cheese, topped with chantilly cream, fresh berry compote, and blackberry coulis
Peanut Butter Crunchy French Toast

We all dug in and enjoyed every bit! As New Yorkers, we definitely weren’t prepared for the incredibly generous portions, but not to fret, to-go containers were in tow. To keep with the “green” morale, all disposable containers are biodegradable and styrofoam is NOT an option.

No food left behind!

After our meal, I had a chance to chat it up with owner Rick Durante. I let him know what a great time we had and how wonderful the food was. I will make sure to stop in as soon as I head back to Philly. Highly recommended.

Green Eggs CafeNorthern Liberties (Click for Map)
719 North 2nd Street
215.922.EGGS (3447)

Hours of operation: 8am-4pm, every day
CASH ONLY
No reservations on Sat/Sun

Twitter/Facebook

*All food description courtesy of Green Eggs Cafe. All photos by Andrea K. Castillo

Leave a Reply

