I Am A WIMer

I, Andrea K. Castillo, am one of the newest members of Women In Music. Women In Music (WIM) is a non-profit, professional organization, to help cultivate and recognize women in the field of music industry. These include instrumentalists, vocalists, songwriters, attorneys, writers, agents, managers, producers, and many more. I became a member last Wednesday with the help of my fellow SUNY Oneonta Music Industry alumnus, Diana Zinni. She is the membership chair of the organization, and I am forever grateful of her giving me the push to join.

In the short time I have been a member thus far, I have received such warm welcomes across the board, and feel like I belong. It’s been very hard for me to find this throughout the years, as I’ve found that my fellow women in the industry have been competitive, and not collaborative. These women have shown me that there is hope. I am very excited to network, and grow within the organization.

You can learn more about the organization by taking a stop by their website here, or by following them on Twitter @womeninmusicorg.

Leave a Reply

