Tears Dry On Their Own: R.I.P. Amy Winehouse

https://i0.wp.com/www.startrip.tv/images/2008/05/09/amy_2.jpg
Amy Winehouse

Passion and emotion feed my writing. Music feeds my soul. Therefore, I find it hard to write about things of this nature. On this 23rd day of July, 2011, we have lost one of the great vocalists of our generation; Amy Winehouse. She was twenty-seven years old. Troubled she was, publicly fighting addiction, her talent could never be refuted.  She has left behind a musical legacy in the albums “Frank” and critically acclaimed “Back to Black”.

I can clearly recall my first encounter with “Back to Black”. It was my junior year of college, and I bought the edited version (by mistake of course), and upon first listen, I remember that I felt everything. I felt every sound, and every word that she sang, and I believed that was something very special. I, in turn, told all my friends and family about how amazing she was, and that they needed to listen to her.

Since the release of what would now be her final album, we saw erratic behavior from Winehouse, caused from addiction, but media assured us of a comeback. I was patiently waiting. I believe in people, and I was sure that she could have made a breakthrough. Unfortunately, we lost her ahead of her time. It has been a somber Saturday, but let us not be sad, but be happy that she is in a better place now. Take a listen to some of my favorite songs. You will be missed.

Leave a Reply

