What I’m Reading: “The Gospel According to Coco Chanel”, Karen Karbo

Oh Coco! How eager I am to read anything that has her name on it. I became familiar with theย  book (full title: “The Gospel According to Coco Chanel: Life Lessons from the World’s Most Elegant Woman”) during a trip to Barnes and Noble last summer. I purchased “If You Have to Cry, Go Outside, And Other Things Your Mother Told You” by Kelly Cutrone that day, and let the book about Miss Coco slip away. It came back on my radar last Monday on a little shopping trip on Lower 5th Ave at Anthropologie, and I felt it was time to make the purchase. I started reading immediately on my train ride home and was delighted by the author’s storytelling; very informative and conversational. This book by Karen Karbo, is a detailed biography of Mademoiselle Coco Chanel’s life told through her “life lessons”. This format made it quite interesting to read, and I oftentimes felt like I was reading a gossip column, as Coco Chanel lived a full life with many lovers, but was never married. I learned that she was a Leo, like myself, and that she was one of the hardest working women in fashion in her time. I do not want to give it all away, so I recommend you take a read yourself if you are interested in taking a peak into the life of the revered designer. Below is one of my favorite passages from chapter 11.

Passage from Chapter 11: "On Living Life on Your Own Terms"...take note of the bold print

The gorgeous illustrations are by Chelsey McLaren. You can check out more of her work here. Also be sure to check out the book’s website for purchase information and more on the author, Karen Karbo.

Leave a Reply

